The Throwaways

The Throwaways

2 Seasons

When newly out teen Olivia loses her family, her home, and her future in one fell swoop, she's taken in by a resilient group of lesbian misfits. Things can only get better. Right?
Despite the repeal of DADT and the recent Supreme Court decision on marriage equality, LGBT kids are still being bullied, harassed, and thrown out of their homes because of their sexuality. The Throwaways follows straight-A, straight-laced, and anything but straight Olivia on her quest to find a safe place to be herself. This series showcases the still tenuous nature of LGBT acceptance in America, as well as the comedy and comfort to be found in new friends and allies.

Subscribe Share
The Throwaways
  • The Time Before

    Episode 1

    In the series premiere, Olivia tries to focus on her homework, but study buddy Andrea has other ideas. When Olivia's mother catches them in the midst of extra-curricular activities, Olivia is faced with the choice between hope and home.

  • Auntie Lame

    Episode 2

    After running away from home, Olivia’s last chance for support turns into a walk down memory lane with some unexpected detours, as well as a new path.

  • Next Stop: Gay Town

    Episode 3

    Olivia, venturing into the city for help, comes face-to-face with Dorsey instead. She isn’t sure whether to trust her new friend, but as things start to unravel, even more, she might not have a choice.

  • Room for One More

    Episode 4

    Olivia meets Dorsey’s group of friends, the Throwaways, including Queen Bee Fiona, who's in charge of the hive the Throwaways buzz around. House rules + new friends + new enemies + strange security checks + small spaces + big emergencies abound.

  • Winnetka
    Episode 5


    Episode 5

    Olivia starts to get into the daily routine of the Throwaways, which is to say...their anti-routine. The other girls put Olivia through her paces, and a visit with the Throwaways' benefactor leaves everyone a little shaken, but it's nothing a night out on the town can't help them forget.

  • I Can See Your Future

    Episode 6

    Olivia witnesses a morning after like no other and takes part in her first day of “work” with the Throwaways. An unexpected connection with another lost girl adds confusion and tension to the mix.

  • Shoeless O

    Episode 7

    Olivia challenges the pecking order of the Throwaways, finds out what happens when you mess with Fiona, and navigates the pointy corners of a love triangle.

  • Rave
    Episode 8


    Episode 8

    Olivia helps run a rave, bumps into her past, smacks head-on into trouble, and looks for an escape hatch from the madness of the Throwaways.

  • Dental Hygienists Don Hurt People

    Episode 9

    Olivia and Jazzlyn play house and get a harsh reminder about the price of being a Throwaway while Fiona and Dorsey juggle endings and beginnings.

  • The Return
    Episode 10

    The Return

    Episode 10

    In the season finale, Olivia ends up back where she started but finds that nothing is, or ever will be, the way it was.